A little more grace

These last few weeks I’ve been learning a lot about grace. Today we are going to take a break from your typical healthy living posts and talking about living healthy in our spiritual lives. These past few weeks have been crazy. Survival mode at it’s finest. Husband sick, watching two extra kiddos for a few days, sister having a baby with health issues, kid gets sickest he’s ever been and we end up in urgent care, baby showers, etc. All good (well mostly good) things that are just compounding all at one time. When the waves of life feel like they are about to drown me, I am remind. Grace. Grace for me when I’m stressed and overwhelmed. Grace to live a life worthy of the calling that Jesus has put on me as a mom, wife, sister, friend, daughter, etc.

Being a mom has not been anything like I expected it to be. I knew it would be hard, but no one can prepare you for the reality. It’s 24/7. There are no breaks, no 5 pm clock out times, no sleeping at night, or at naptime, endless laundry, dishes, and chores, but somewhere in there, there is joy. Joy that I get to be with my little one day in and day out. Joy that I know him better than anyone (except Jesus). Joy that I am able to serve my family in these ways. Sanctification in washing dishes and cleaning up puke. Redemption as I seek to be the best mom I can be; knowing that Jesus is really the only one who can meet all of E’s needs.. but overall, GRACE. Grace when I am imperfect, grace when I mess up, grace when I loose patience, grace when it feels like these days will never end; and yet are going all too quickly at the same time. Grace to point my family to Jesus knowing that I need Him more than I ever had. Grace to run this earthly race as hard as I can and when I fall to get back up again and keep going.

I needed to hear this, this week as I was beginning to be overwhelmed by the pressures around me. Grace. I will live in it. I will get up each morning and put it on. I will seek to walk in it throughout my day. And when the laundry doesn’t get done, the house is messy again, I am puked on for the 6th time, there is grace. More than I will ever need. Because He loves me. I pray that you are encouraged, no matter where you are. There is grace at the foot of the cross. Live in the light of His grace today. Being the best mom, wife, friend, sister, daughter, mentor you can be. Praying like it’s all up to Him and living like it’s all up to you. Your reward is great, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

Blessings to you today.

Leave a Reply

