Breakfast Muffins

We have been battling the flu in our house this last week; therefore I had every intent to get more than one post done last week- but the stomach virus had other plans for me. 🙂 We covered ourselves in Thieves oil and let our body build some natural immunity. Not the most fun, but now we all have a few more white blood cells! Moving on…

Too often I miss breakfast. Studies show that not only is breakfast important to our metabolism’s jump start it can also lower incidences of obesity and some chronic diseases. With that said- it is not always easy to get a nutritious meal put together before trying to get out the door or before the day gets away from me. Recently if I don’t eat I notice my brain feeling foggy and I feel like I lack energy. In the summers it is easy to throw together a nutritious smoothie full of greens and fruit but when it’s freezing and snowing I don’t always feel like a smoothie. My good friend had a problem at one point getting her toddler to eat veggies and healthy snacks so she would make up these muffins to pack in some nutrition for her little guy. They have become a go to breakfast for me! I will make up a few dozen and then package them in groups of 4-5 and eat one in the morning before heading out the door. Hope they make your day a little more nutritious and easy!

Jess’ Breakfast Muffins

5 cups oats (I use trader joe’s gluten free- cheap and good!)

2 eggs

1 smashed avocado

1 cup of unsweetened applesauce

6 packets of stevia (this is too sweet for me- I just use either maple syrup or honey here)

a drizzle of honey (if you didn’t omit the above)

1/4 c. flax seed meal (you can buy this whole or ground. I buy whole and grind in my coffee grinder)

1 T. cinnamon

3 t. baking powder

1 t. salt

2-2 3/4 c. water or milk (I use almond or coconut milk to keep these dairy free)

Chocolate or carob chips topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix avocado, eggs, applesauce, and stevia (or sugar substitution). Mix oats, flax, cinnamon, baking powder and salt separately. Mix wet and dry ingredients together and add milk. Top with chocolate chips, bake for 30 minutes.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Muffins

  1. Thanks Bethany! I would love a simpler breakfast for me and the kiddos so I’m really excited to try these :). I’m really enjoying you posts and definitely will be following

    Like

Leave a Reply

